Travis Varnadore Back In Victory Lane Winning Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds. Boyd, Jr. Wins East Bay Sprints

August 9, 2014 by  
Filed under Featured, Racing Results, Stories

Varnadore Winner 8-9-14

GIBSONTON — At East Bay Raceway on Saturday night, feature winners on the 1/3-mile clay oval were Outlaw Fours was Raymond Rogers, Jr. The Gagel’s Open Wheel Modified went to Travis Varnadore. East Bay Sprints was Billy Boyd, Jr. Sunshine Micro Sprints winner was Chad Mears. Double features for the 4 Cylinder Bombers, Patrick Fiore, Sr. picked up the win in both features.

In the 15-lap Outlaw Fours feature event went to Raymond Rogers, Jr. as he made it back to back wins. Rogers, Jr. took over on lap six as leader Brian Barse broke an engine ending his night. Second place went to Nick Hebrank and third to Zach Amundsen. Rogers, Jr. also picked up the heat win.

In the 15-lap Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds Travis Varnadore picked up his first Open Wheel Modified feature win driving for Bobby Dixon. Buzzie Reutimann finished in the second spot while Jerry Bruce, Jr. finished third. Reutimann won the heat.

In the East Bay Sprint 20-lap feature it was Billy Boyd, Jr. taking over on lap two and going on to win his third feature of the season. Johnny Alexander with his best finish would come home second with Kurt Taylor third. Kurt Taylor and Kerry Gilbert won their heats.

Winning the Sunshine Micro Sprints 15-lap feature was Chad Mears. It was only Mear’s fourth time in the car and picked up his very first feature win. Dorsey Strickland surrendered the lead with just two laps remaining and Dustin Cates finished third. Mears and Nikole Voisey won their heats.

Patrick Fiore, Sr. picked up the wins in both features tonight. He was able to hold off Bailey Purcell and George Handy in the first feature while Handy and Purcell finished second and third in the second feature. Purcell and Handy won their heats.

Action continues next Saturday August 16th with the Limited Late Models, Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks, Outlaw Fours, V8 Warriors, 4 Cylinder Bombers and the Florida Old Time Modifieds. For information, visit or call 813-677-7223.

Saturday’s results

Outlaw Fours (15-lap feature)
1. 40R Raymond Rogers, Jr.
2. 9 Nick Hebrank
3. 20 Zach Amundsen
4. 53 Brandon Yates
5. 41 Mark Moniz
6. 42 Candie Moniz
7. 77 Rachelle Rudolph
8. 5 Brian Barse

Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds (15-lap feature)
1. 205 Travis Varnadore
2. 00 Buzzie Reutimann
3. 35 Jerry Bruce, Jr.
4. 40B Kyle Bronson
5. 73 Nate Bregenzer
6. 43J James Decker

East Bay Sprints (20-lap feature)
1. 9 Billy Boyd, Jr.
2. 3T Johnny Alexander
3. 3K Kurt Taylor
4. 1* Tim George
5. 23D Dylan Colding
6. 17C Aileen Collins
7. 80 Lorenzo Capitano
8. 10x Sean Clark
9. 12 David Kelley
10. 38 Tony Agin
11. 21 Jason Webster
12. 55 Kerry Gilbert
13. 44A Mike Steinruck
14. 5 Hayden Campbell (DNS)
15. 3xk Guy Bos (DNS)

Sunshine Mircro Sprints (15-lap feature)
1. 19 Chad Mears
2. 21 Dorsey Strickland
3. 09 Dustin Cates
4. 52 Wade Evans
5. 5 Justan Rogers
6. 22 Hunter Strickland
7. 00 Rick Jones
8. 28 Paul Weaver
9. 27 Frank Hurst
10. 23 Paul Seburn
11. 14 John Fulton
12. 3 Joe Bartow
13. 7 Fain Robbins
14. 9 Jeremy Wilkes
15. 33 Terry Hattan
16. 20 Nikole Voisey (DNS)
17. 51T Willaim Flack (DNS)
18. 20T Rick Brayton (DNS) 4 Cylinder Bombers Make-up (15-lap feature)
1. 88 Patrick Fiore, Sr.
2. 14B Bailey Purcell
3. 22 George Handy
4. 09X Brett Calonge
5. 4 Kayla Jones
6. 318 Chris Morris
7. 23 Gary Lucas
8. 82 Devon Smith
9. 5 Eddie Summitt
10. 04x Richard Humfeld
11. 0 Cindy Mann
12. 86 John McCutcheon (DNS)
13. 813 Stephen Morris (DNS)
14. 7 Gene Gross (DNS) 4 Cylinder Bombers (15-lap feature)
1. 88 Patrick Fiore, Sr.
2. 22 George Handy
3. 14B Bailey Purcell
4. 48 James Paes
5. 4 Kayla Jones
6. 318 Chris Morris
7. 7 Gene Gross
8. 0 Cindy Mann
9. 5 Eddie Summitt
10. 5Y Aaron Yahnke
11. 82 Devon Smith
12. 09x Brett Calonge
13. 04x Richard Humfeld
14. 17 Joe Rhodes
15. 23 Gary Lucas
16. 10 Randy Tyler

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!