David Pollen, Jr. Picks Up Biggest Win Of His Career At East Bay Raceway Park

June 28, 2014 by  
Filed under Featured, Racing Results, Stories

Pollen jr winner 6-28-14

David Pollen, Jr. Picks Up Biggest Win Of His Career At East Bay Raceway Park

June 28, 2014, – Tampa, FL – Four divisions were on hand tonight as the East Bay Sprints, Florida Mini Sprints, Late Models and the V8 Warriors were racing at The Clay By The Bay.

First feature of the night went to the Florida Mini Sprints. Winning their heats were Robbie Smith, Austin Rice and John Craddock. For the feature it would be Robby Hoffman and Sheldon Kinser on the front row. Kinser jumped out in front to an early lead with Robby Hoffman trailing. Hoffman won the feature back on April 26th looking to make it two in a row. The entire feature went without caution as Kinser made his way through lapped traffic and went on to pick up the win. Sheldon has won at East Bay previously in a 360 Sprint and seemed very excited to back in Victory Lane. Rounding out the top five were Robby Hoffman, John Craddock, Robbie Smith and Austin Rice.

Next up were the East Bay Sprints. Winning their heats were Billy Boyd, Jr., Kerry Gilbert and Johnny Gilbertson. For the feature it would be a former Champion Kerry Gilbert on the pole with the defending Champion Billy Boyd, Jr. on the outside front row. Boyd would take the green and lead the field until the first caution came out on lap fifteen as Jason Webster and Johnny Gilbertson came to rest in turn four. Boyd, Jr. was the leader with Troy Knowles in second and AJ Maddox up to third. Before a lap was completed Sean Clark spun in turn two and brought out the caution. When the green waved again it was Boyd, Jr. making his way through the lapped traffic and was able to hold off the field to pick up another win. Rounding out the top ten were Troy Knowles, Lorenzo Capitano, Rick Byerly and Kerry Gilbert.

Late Models were next with their 25 Lap Feature Event. Winning their heats were Bryan Bernhardt and Phillip Cobb. Dalton Myers and David Pollen, Jr. would make up the front row for the feature. When the green waved the field charged into turn one with Pollen, Jr. emerging into the top spot. Pollen, Jr. would lead the way with Myers in second until lap nine the caution came out for Danny Fogal as a small fire had developed under his car ending his night. Pollen would lead the next two laps as Rookie Megan Meyer and Jesse James Foster tangled in turn four ending both of their nights. Pollen would lead the next eight laps until lap nineteen when Wayne Hayes spun in turn two. With only three laps remaining caution came out once again as Kyle Musselman spun in turn three. Pollen, Jr. would lead the field to the green for the final three laps as he went on to win his very first Late Model Feature win on dirt. “This is probably my biggest win of my career” Pollen stated in Victory Lane with a huge smile on his face. “I thought I might go back to asphalt racing but decided to get things together over the past few months and glad I decided to come back to dirt” he also stated. Rounding out the top five were Dalton Myers, Bryan Bernhardt, Jamie Slatton and Dave Schmauss.

The final feature of the night was the V8 Warriors. Winning their heats were Jason Manning and Tommy Hill who also made up the front row for the 15 lap feature event. When the green waved Hill quickly grabbed the lead with Mike Wilson and Brett Phillips on his back bumper. Two cautions would come out in the first two laps and Roberto Morfin, Sr. spun in turn one on lap one and Henry Wiley would lose a right rear tire ending his night on lap two. It would be a single file restart with Hill, Wilson and Phillips still the top three. Several more cautions would come out throughout the race until lap ten. Hill and Wilson would continue to battle with the two drivers side by side at the start finish line on lap twelve with Wilson taking over the lead on lap thirteen and went on to win the feature. Rounding out the top five were Tommy Hill, Kevin Cassaday, Jason Manning and Jason Burnside.

Racing continues Thursday July 3rd as the Late Models race for 50 laps in the U.S.A. Firecracker 50. It will be the makeup event from June 14th. Also racing in features only will be the Limited Late Models as they race for 20 laps and the Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks and the V8 Warriors race for 15 lap features. There will also be a Fireworks Extravaganza at the end of the nights racing. Grandstands open at 6:00 pm with hot laps to begin around 7:00 pm and the racing will be at 7:30 pm. For further information, log on to www.eastbayracewaypark.com or call 813-677-7223 for more information.

Race Results:
Florida Mini Sprints 15 Lap Feature
1. 2JR Sheldon Kinser
2. 12 Robby Hoffman
3. 71 John Craddock
4. 77 Robbie Smith
5. 9 Austin Rice
6. 3D Austin Craddock
7. 68 Dirk Miller
8. 63 Ryan Bartholomew
9. 30 John Crowder
10. 24 Ken Penta
11. 04 Paige Moss
12. 20J Chris Belcher
13. 67 Dave Hall
14. 69 Rudy Nonnemacher
15. 96 Nikki Voisey
16. 88 Al Seitz
17. 8 Eddie Moss
18. 0 Luke Fidler (DNS)
19. 23 Rae Lynn Moss (DNS)

East Bay Sprints 20 Lap Feature
1. 9 Billy Boyd, Jr.
2. 27 Troy Knowles
3. 80 Lorenzo Capitano
4. 50 Rick Byerly
5. 55 Kerry Gilbert
6. 23D Dylan Colding
7. 21 Jason Webster
8. 17c Aileen Collins
9. 3T Johnny Alexander
10. 15 Johnny Gilbertson
11. 10x Sean Clark
12. 12 David Kelley
13. 8 Rich Alexander
14. 1* Tim George
15. 6S Robbie Smith (DNS)
16. 30 DJ Peeples
17. 44A Mike Steinruck
18. 3A AJ Madox (DQ Unsportsmanlike Conduct)

Late Models 25 Lap Feature
1. 88 David Pollen, Jr.
2. 54 Dalton Myers
3. B69 Bryan Bernhardt
4. 11J Jamie Slatton
5. 105 Dave Schmauss
6. 12 Jack Nosbisch, Jr.
7. 32 Phillip Cobb
8. 40B Kyle Bronson
9. 2 Tommy Prince
10. 83 Wayne Hayes
11. 46M Kyle Musselman
12. 11M Megan Meyer
13. 14J Jesse James Foster
14. 74 Danny Fogal

V8 Warriors 15 Lap Feature
1. 68 Mike Wilson
2. 5H Tommy Hill
3. 80 Kevin Cassaday
4. 26 Jason Manning
5. 12J Jason Burnside
6. 18 Nicholas Schneider
7. 73 Jeremey Simpson
8. 08 Tim Stoffel
9. 7 Bill Dixon
10. 78 Doug Norris
11. 31 David Riner
12. 13 Brett Phillips
13. 89 Derek Gray
14. 7M Roberto Morfin, Sr.
15. 11 Henry Wiley
16. 69x Jimmy Baker
17. 32 Raymond Vann (DNS)

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!