Forrest Gough And John Moore Make It Two Wins In A Row At East Bay Raceway Park

April 5, 2014 by  
Filed under Featured, Racing Results, Stories

Gough Winner 4-5-14

April 5, 2014, – Tampa, FL – Limited Late Models, Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds, V8 Warriors and the 4 Cylinder Bombers were all on hand to find out who will be in Victory Lane at The Clay By The Bay tonight.

First feature of the night went to the V8 Warriors. Winning their heats early on were Derek Gray and Mike Wilson. It would be Bill Bill Smith and Brett Phillips making up the front row for the 15 Lap Feature Event. When the green waved it was Bill Bill Smith taking charge for the first few laps until Jimmy Baker and Smith crossed the line on lap three with Smith over Baker by just a half a car length. But it was on the very next lap as Smith was trying to hold off Baker and found himself spinning out in turn four putting him to the tail end of the field. On the restart it was Baker leading with Brett Phillips and Mike Wilson the top three. Baker did everything he could to hold off the field but it was on lap fourteen as Mike Wilson would take over the lead coming out of turn four and going on to win the feature. Rounding out the top five were Raymond Van, Jimmy Baker, Bill Whitney and Derek Gray.

Next up were the Limited Late Models. A good field of cars was on hand as 19 cars registered for the nights action. Winning their heats early on were Forrest Gough, Roger Crouse and Richard Livernois, Jr. On the front row for the feature it would be Jason Pope and Henry Burnside. Burnside quickly took the lead and would remain there until the first caution would come out for Jeremy Simpson stopping on the backstretch ending his night with seventeenth place for the feature. The green flag would wave once again for the restart as Burnside led the next three laps with Crouse on his back bumper until the caution had come out as Dalton Goldhammer would spin in turn four. Caution would come out once more on lap ten with Troy Dittebrand spinning in turn four which now would make it a single file restart with less than five laps to go. Jesse Brown spun in turn two before they could get a lap in and then when the green waved once again it was Burnside up front with Crouse close behind. As Crouse appeared to catch Burnside in turn four, he had appeared to check up and Dale Pope had to check up as well and found himself spinning out and bringing the caution out. It was on lap fourteen when a diving Forrest Gough went to the inside and getting by Burnside and Scotty Williams and would go on to pick up his second feature win of the season making it back-to-back wins. Rounding out the top five were Scotty Williams, Roger Crouse, Jason Pope and Stephen Hohlbaugh.

The Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds were next up for their 15 Lap Feature Event with Austin Sanders picking up the heat win early on. For the feature it would be Jerry Bruce and Bill Howard starting on the front row. As the green flag waved it would be Matt Miller after starting from the fourth position quickly went to the front. But it was on lap two when the first caution would come out as Nate Bregenzer slowed on the backstretch. Bregenzer was able to continue on as Miller took the green flag on the restart with Howard and Crouse the top three. Matt Miller went on to win the feature as no other cautions would come out with Roger Crouse, Buzzie Reutimann, Austin Sanders and Bill Howard rounded out the top five.
The final feature of the night went to the 4 Cylinder Bombers. Winning their heats early on were John Moore and Patrick Fiore, Sr.. It would be Stephen Morris and Jimmy Williams making up the front row for the 15 Lap Feature Event. The green flag waved and Williams quickly jumped out front leading until the first caution came out on lap three as Richard Humfeld and Devon Smith tangled in turn two and just before Smith could take off Terry Cannon collided into the back of Smith. All drivers were okay and were able to continue on. Williams would lead the field to the restart until lap five as John Moore took over the lead. The final caution came out on lap ten as Edith Scott backed her car into turn four wall with no damage and second place Patrick Fiore, Sr. had to turn left into the infield ending his night with a right rear flat. Moore would lead the final laps and go on to win back-to-back features with George Handy, Jimmy Williams, Richard Humfeld and Stephen Morris rounding out the top five.

Racing continues next weekend as the Late Models will run for 50 Laps paying $3,800 to win in the Scott Thompson Memorial and race #1 for the Donnie Tanner Memorial Series in conjunction with the United Dirt Late Model Series. This will be a “Special Event” next weekend. Also racing will be the East Bay Sprints, Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks, 4 Cylinder Bombers and the Daytona Area Antique Racing Association. For further information, log on to for call 813-677-7223 for more information.

V8 Warriors 15 Lap Feature
1. 68 Mike Wilson
2 32 Raymond Vann
3. 69x Jimmy Baker
4. 15 Bill Whitney
5. 89 Derek Gray
6. 13 Brett Phillips
7. 73 David Simpson
8. 11 Henry Wiley
9. 28x Bill Bill Smith
10. 78 Doug Morris
11. 18 Nicholas Schneider

Limited Late Models 15 Lap Feature
1. 21 Forrest Gough
2. 27 Scotty Williams
3. 45 Roger Crouse
4. 102 Jason Pope
5. 75 Stephen Hohlbaugh
6. 71 Richard Livernois, Jr.
7. 7JR Jesse Brown
8. 93 Paul Sampson
9. 88 Dale Pope
10. 49 Randy Shields
11. 18 Dalton Goldhammer
12. 09 Jessica Robbins
13. 222 Troy Dittebrand
14. 55 Brian Danforth
15. 66 Ricky Land
16. 75R Jason Russell
17. 73 Jeremy Simpson
18. 0 Darrell Taylor (DNS)
19 985 Henry Burnside (DQ No Muffler in tech)

Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds 15 Lap Feature
1. 8M Matt Miller
2. 9 Roger Crouse
3. 00 Buzzie Reutimann
4. 64 Austin Sanders
5. 47 Bill Howard
6. 35 Jerry Bruce
7. 20 Lars Amundsen
8. 43J James Decker
9. 73 Nate Bregenzer 4 Cylinder Bombers 15 Lap Feature
1. 66 John Moore
2. 22 George Handy
3. 27N Jimmy Williams
4. 04x Richard Humfeld
5. 813 Stephen Morris
6. 5 Eddie Summitt
7. 09x Brett Calonge
8. 33 Kendra Quinn
9. 66E Edith Scott
10. 86 John McCutcheon
11. 88 Patrick Fiore, Sr.
12. 4 Kayla Jones
13. 7 Gene Gross
14. 82 Devon Smith
15. 16 Terry Cannon
16. 23 Gary Lucas
17. 318 Chris Morris

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!