Eddie Carrier Jr Sweeps First Night of East Bay Winternationals

February 10, 2014 by  
Filed under Featured, Racing Results, Stories

Carrier 2-10-14

Eddie Carrier Jr Sweeps First Night of East Bay Winternationals

TAMPA, FL (February 10, 2014) – Eddie Carrier Jr. made a clean sweep of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series racing action on Monday Night at East Bay Raceway Park. Carrier set a new track record during Miller Welders Time Trials, won his heat, and led all 25 laps for the victory in his Carl Grover Motorsports/Rocket Ford.
Carrier earned his first career win at East Bay over Devin Moran, Brandon Sheppard, Brian Shirley, and Billy Moyer, Jr. Carrier’s Salt Rock Express is powered by a Grover Race Engines.

“If we didn’t win tonight, we may never have another chance like this. When you set a new track record, win your heat, and lead every lap in the feature, it’s really awesome. It says a lot about our race team. My car owner, Carl Grover and my dad (Eddie Carrier Sr.) have been so instrumental in my career, I can’t thank them enough. This car has been so good out of the box this year, Rocket Chassis worked real hard at the end of last year on this design and this year it’s been superfast,” said the winner.

The younger Moran held his own for most of the distance, fighting off challenges from several drivers. “To run second with this group of drivers says a lot,” said the 19-year-old. “My dad (Donnie) told me to be patient. To out run guys like Billy Moyer, his son, Sheppard, and everybody else here… wow is all I can say.”
After a late caution, Sheppard got things going, passing several cars in the waning laps. He took the Rocket House Car up to the third spot to earn a podium finish. “We have continued to work on this car every day; it was really good late. We started eighth and worked our way up there. We will come back tomorrow and try to make it even better.”

Completing the top ten were Gregg Satterlee, Billy Moyer, Ray Cook, Jared Landers, and Dennis Erb Jr.

In preliminary action, Eddie Carrier Jr. set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group B) amongst the ¬44 entrants, with a lap of 13.971 seconds (NEW EAST BAY RACEWAY PARK TRACK RECORD). Billy Moyer Jr. set the fastest time in Group A with a time of 14.173 seconds. Devin Moran, Racy Cook, Eddie Carrier Jr. and Billy Moyer won their respective heat races. Jason Hughes and Dustin Mitchell won their respective B-Mains.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series on www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/lucasdirt.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Monday Night, February 10th, 2014
38th Annual East Bay Winternationals

East Bay Raceway Park – Tampa, FL
Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Billy Moyer Jr. / 14.173 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Eddie Carrier Jr. / 13.971 seconds ***New Track Record***
Fast Shafts Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Devin Moran, Billy Moyer Jr., Kenny PettyJohn, John Mollick, Gregg Satterlee, Justin Rattliff, Kevin Weaver, Joe Denby, Andy Bond, James O’Hara, Jimmy Owens
Eibach Springs Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Ray Cook, Davey Johnson, Dennis Erb Jr., Chad Hollenbeck, Vic Coffey, Bobby Pierce, Jason Riggs, Nick Davis, Jason Papich, Mike Stadel, Jay Brunson
Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Eddie Carrier Jr., Jared Landers, Ricky Weiss, Brian Shirley, Jason Hughes, Dennis Franklin, Jay Morris, Bob Gardner, Allen Murray, Bob Geiger, Don Young
FK Rod Ends Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Billy Moyer, Brandon Sheppard, Mark Whitener, Eric Jacobsen, Mike Benedum, Booper Bare, Dustin Mitchell, Adam Bowman, Chad Stapleton, Dan Stone
JRi Shocks B-Main #1 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Bobby Pierce, Gregg Satterlee, Justin Rattliff, Jason Papich, Jason Riggs, Kevin Weaver, Nick Davis, Jay Brunson, Mike Stadel, James O’Hara, Andy Bond, Joe Denby
CV Products B-Main #2 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Jason Hughes, Dennis Franklin, Mike Benedum, Jay Morris, Bob Gardner, Booper Bare, Dustin Mitchell, Allen Murray, Bob Geiger, Don Young, Chad Stapleton, Dan Stone
DirtonDirt.com Strawberry Dash Finish (Winner Transfers): Dustin Mitchell, Kevin Weaver< Joe Denby, Jay Morris, Allen Murray, James O’Hara, Bob Geiger, Mike Stadel

Feature Finish (25 Laps):
1 2 28 Eddie Carrier Jr. Salt Rock, WV
2 1 99m Devin Moran Dresden, OH
3 8 1 Brandon Sheppard Berlin, IL
4 14 81 Brian Shirley Chatham, IL
5 5 21JR Billy Moyer Jr. Batesville, AR
6 19 22s Gregg Satterlee Rochester Mills, PA
7 4 21 Billy Moyer Batesville, AR
8 3 53 Ray Cook Brasstown, NC
9 6 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
10 11 28e Dennis Erb Jr. Carpentersville, IL
11 16 5J Eric Jacobsen Watsonville, CA
12 23 91P Jason Papich Nipomo, CA
13 22 25x Mike Benedum Salem, WV
14 10 7w Ricky Weiss Headingley, MB
15 24 4G Bob Gardner Metamora, IL
16 17 32 Bobby Pierce Oakwood, IL
17 15 4-Ds Chad Hollenbeck Montrose, PA
18 9 38 Kenny PettyJohn Millsboro, DE
19 7 1J Davey Johnson Greensburg, PA
20 12 58 Mark Whitener Middleburg, FL
21 26 8 Dustin Mitchell Pine Level, NC
22 21 16 Justin Rattliff Campbellsville, KY
23 13 4J John Mollick Toronto, OH
24 18 12 Jason Hughes Watts, OK
25 20 2F Dennis Franklin Gaffney, SC
26 25 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN

Race Statistics
Entrants: 44
Lap Leaders: Eddie Carrier Jr. (Laps 1 – 25)
Caution Flags: Bob Gardner, Dennis Franklin, Jason Hughes (Lap 1); Justin Rattliff (Lap 13); Mark Whitener (Lap 19); Mike Benedum, Bobby Pierce, Davey Johnson (Lap 19)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: N/A
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: N/A
Hedman Hedders Fast Time Provisional: Jimmy Owens
DirtOnDirt.com Strawberry Dash Winner: Dustin Mitchell
Wrisco Feature Winner: Eddie Carrier Jr.
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Gregg Satterlee (Started: 19th; Finished: 6th; Advanced: 13 positions)
Keyser Mfg Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: N/A
Allstar Performer of the Race: Brandon Sheppard
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Devin Moran
Dunn Benson Ford Rookie of the Race: Will begin after RoY registration deadline.
Midwest Sheet Metal Highest Finishing Rookie: Will begin after RoY registration deadline.
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Grover Race Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Rocket Chassis
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Eddie Carrier Sr. (Eddie Carrier Jr.)
HAWK Performance Fastest Lap of the Race: Eddie Carrier Jr. – Lap 3 – 15.210 seconds
Time of Race: 17 minutes 10 seconds

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!