February 7, 2014 by  
Filed under Featured, Racing Results, Stories

Josh May Winner 2-6-14

By Charlie Brown, TAMPA, FL – Josh May of Desoto, Iowa made the long tow to Florida worth his while as he led flag to flag to win Thursday night’s TUSA Mod Lite Hoosier Southern Region qualifier portion of the Winter Nationals at East Bay Raceway Park.

A strong field of 26 cars from eight states and Canada took to the starting grid for the 25 lap main. At the drop of the green a lead battle developed with Josh May running the bottom groove just ahead of Jimmy Wills of Felton, Del. running against the top cushion. Mike Walling of Humble, Texas held the third spot while Delaware drivers Ty Short and James Hill diced for the fourth spot.

Iowa’s Jimmy May started in eighth and powered into fourth on lap five. Then it was Wednesday’s Invitational winner, Jeff Teeters of Illinois on the move dropping Jimmy May to fifth on lap nine. The first yellow flew on lap 11 when Curt Miles, Jr. of Saxis, Va. slowed in the second turn. Back to green Teeters got by Walling for third with Short following into fourth.

At the halfway sign the top five were Josh May, Wills, Teeters, Short and Walling. With ten to go the yellow was out for Warren, Ohio’s Ken Meadows who slowed to a stop. Meadows had spent the entire day up until qualifying replacing the front clip and engine after Wednesday night’s crash but had qualified third in his heat to make the field.

Teeters used the bottom line to get by Wills for second on the restart but Wills battled his way back into the second spot one lap later in a duel that would last the rest of the distance. Hill was back on the climb and looking strong taking third from Walling with five to go. The third and final yellow would erase May’s lead with just two laps to go.

May never faltered on the final restart and drove to the checkered. “I was really glad to see that final yellow,” said May. “My arms were worn out and it gave me the break that I needed.”

Wills and Teeters battled to the line with Wills taking second by a bumper. Hill slowed on the final circuit and Short finished in the fourth spot while Walling rounded out the top five. Heats were won by Wills, Josh May, Walling, and Short while Josh Sliter and Jim Bogett took the “B” Mains. Twenty cars finished on the lead lap and 22 of the 26 starters finished the race.

TUSA Southern Regional Finish: 1. Josh May; 2. Jimmy Wills; 3. Jeff Teeters; 4. Ty Short; 5. Mike Walling; 6. Tim White; 7. Shane Pfeuffer; 8. Jimmy May; 9. Chris Logan; 10. Greg Rossell; 11. Joe Bob Veach; 12. Nick Nash; 13. Ed Zehm; 14. Dan Ferguson; 15. Rick Ament; 16. Rick Demo; 17. Paul Klager; 18. Chris Frank; 19. Jim Bogett; 20. Bryan Zehm; 21. James Hill; 22. Chase Flatt; 23. Ken Meadows; 24. Joe Isabell; 25. Curt Miles, Jr.; 26. Josh Sliter.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!