AJ Maddox Goes Wire To Wire Winning The Eagle Jet Top Gun Sprints Feature Presented By Buddy’s Home Furnishings At East Bay Raceway Park

December 7, 2013 by  
Filed under Featured, Racing Results, Stories

Maddox winner 12-7-13

December 7, 2013, – Tampa, FL – The Eagle Jet Top Gun Sprints had 29 cars registered for their 25 lap $1,000 to win feature sponsored by Buddy’s Home Furnishings. Also racing were the Limited Late Models, Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks, V8 Warriors and the Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers.

First feature of the night was the Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks with William Burnside winning the heat race. For the feature it was Thomas Burnside and Roberto Morfin, Sr. making up the front row. When the green waved Thomas Burnside led the first three laps until caution waved for his brother William spinning in turn two. The green waved once again as Thomas would continue to lead until another caution came out. This time is was for Michael Eaton spinning in turn four. On the final restart Thomas Burnside went on to lead the rest of the way and go on to win his second feature in 2013. Rounding out the top five was Dennis Wilson, Jr., William Burnside came back through the field to finish a strong third with Buck Woodhouse and Billy Barstow rounding out the top five.

Next were the Limited Late Models. Winning their heats were Thomas Scott and Roger Crouse and the two would also make up the front row for the feature. Scott would lead the first lap until caution came out as Jason Dyal spun in turn four. When the green waved again, Scott led the next seven laps as Forrest Gough spun in turn three after running in the third position. Only one other caution would come out as Thomas Scott would go on to win his very first Feature at East Bay Raceway Park. Scott said in Victory Lane that this was one of the tracks he had been trying to win and finally got it tonight. He also said he would gladly trade in the wins from other tracks to get this feature win here he also talked about in Victory Lane. Rounding out the top five were Roger Crouse, Dale Pope, Jason Dyal and Forrest Gough. Dale Pope would go on to be the 2013 Limited Late Model Champion.

Third feature of the night went to the Eagle Jet Top Gun Sprints. Winning their heats were AJ Maddox, Andy Cobb, Mark Ruel, Jr. and Terry Witherspoon. All four drivers were also eligible to win the Barfield Sweep of an extra $100 if the won the feature as well. Starting on the front row would be AJ Maddox and Johnny Gilbertson. Maddox was quickly to take the lead only till the first caution came out after lap one as Joe Metcalf slowed and ended his night. Maddox had Gilbertson and Andy Cobb right on his tail for the restart as Maddox showed his muscle on the restarts throughout the night. Cautions would come out on laps three and four as Kerry Gilbert slowed in turn four and Rebecca George broke the front end and ended her night as well. On the restart on lap four Maddox had Gilbertson and now Tyler Godwin up to third tracking down Maddox. But it was on lap thirteen as second place Gilbertson slowed and then came to rest in turn three ending his night. Two more cautions had come out on laps fifteen and twenty two as Cobb spun in turn four and Witherspoon stopped in turn two. But it was also on lap twenty two when second place Godwin had spun in turn four and had to be restarted which put him to the tail end of the lead lap. So now Maddox had Ruel, Jr. and Danny Martin, Jr. who had made his way up to third with just three laps remaining. On lap twenty four Johnny Alexander spun in turn four making it a one lap dash to the finish. When the green and white waved together it was Maddox once again showing his muscle on the restart and going on to win the feature also picking up the Barfield Sweep making it an $1,100 payday for Maddox. Maddox in Victory Lane thanked his Father for supporting him along with Ray Bolin. He also thanked Delgado Engines for their great motor that allowed him to pick up the win. Rounding out the top five were Danny Martin, Jr., Mark Ruel, Jr., Sport Allen and Billy Boyd, Jr.

V8 Warriors were the next feature of the night with Bill Whitney and Marco Reyes winning their heats. Don Foligno and Henry Wiley made up the front row for their 15 lap feature event. Don Foligno would lead lap one until caution came out for Bill Whitney. When the green waved again it was Foligno leading the way until lap two when Raymond Vann took over the lead until lap five when Dennis Lewis spun in turn four and it was Vann heading to the pits ending his hopes for a feature win. On the restart it would be Don Foligno back in front with Reyes and Jeff Weaver chasing him down. Weaver took over the lead on lap six as cautions would come out on laps seven and fourteen with Lewis this time slowing in turn three ending his night and on lap fourteen as Weaver had a little help going around in turn two. Weaver would get his spot back and go on to win the feature. Rounding out the top five were Tim Stoffel, Brett Phillips, Jessica Robbins and Henry Wiley.

The final feature was the Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers. Winning their heats were Jimmy Baker and John Moore who would also start on the front row of the feature. When the green waved it was Moore leading the way with Baker and Wayne Kissam battling for the top spot. It was on lap eight as the three drivers were three wide coming out of turn four. Kissam would lead on lap nine as he battled with Moore and Baker for the final three laps as Kissam went on to win his second feature of the year. Rounding out the top five were John Moore, George Handy, Patrick Fiore, Sr. and Jimmy Baker.

ASA racing continues next weekend with its final night of the 2013 Season comes to an end as it will be a Special Event with the Late Models running topless for 50 Laps. Also running topless with an option will be the Outlaw Fours for their feature as well. The Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks, V8 Warriors and the Florida Old Time Modifieds will also be racing. The final four Champions will be crowned next Saturday night. For further information, log on to www.eastbayracewaypark.com for call 813-677-7223 for more information.

Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stock 15 Lap Feature
1. 13 Thomas Burnside
2. 42 Dennis Wilson, Jr.
3. 31 William Burnside
4. 55R Buck Woodhouse
5. 75 Billy Barstow
6. 48M Roberto Morfin, Sr.
7. 32 Michael Eaton
8. 55R Roy Woodhouse (DNS)

Limited Late Models 15 Lap Feature
1. 61 Thomas Scott
2. 45 Roger Crouse
3. 88 Dale Pope
4. 77D Jason Dyal
5. 99 Forrest Gough
6. 15 Shane Koperda
7. 66 Ricky Land
8. 49 Randy Shields
9. 22 Todd Ford
10. 7JR Jesse Brown

Eagle Jet Top Gun Sprints 25 Lap Feature
1. 3A AJ Maddox
2. 24 Danny Martin, Jr.
3. 83 Mark Ruel, Jr.
4. 88 Sport Allen
5. 9 Billy Boyd, Jr.
6. 82 Tyler Godwin
7. 1* Tim George
8. 7 Kyle Pitts
9. 82T Matt Kurtz
10. 111 Andy Cobb
11. 52 Shane Kreidler
12. 3T Johnny Alexander
13. 36 Ken Laureno
14. 07 Clint Reynolds
15. 43 Terry Witherspoon
16. 10X Sean Clark
17. 34 Darren Orth
18. 15 Johnny Gilbertson
19. 22 Shawn Murray
20. 3K Kurt Taylor
21. 8 Rich Alexander
22. 21A Rebecca George
23. 33 Dave Steele
24. 55 Kerry Gilbert
25. 52M Joe Metcalf

V8 Warriors 15 Lap Feature
1. 26 Jeff Weaver
2. 08 Tim Stoffel
3. 28 Brett Phillips
4. 09 Jessica Robbins
5. 11 Henry Wiley
6. 98 Don Foligno
7. 3Z William Suggs
8. 93 Marco Reyes
9. 54 Dennis Lewis
10. 32 Raymond Vann
11. 15 Bill Whitney
12. 51 Ron Smith (DNS)

Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers 15 Lap Feature
1. 07 Wayne Kissam
2. 66 John Moore
3. 22 George Handy
4. 88 Patrick Fiore, Sr.
5. 69X Jimmy Baker
6. 911 Robert Kissam
7. 4 Kayla Jones
8. 0 Darrell Taylor
9. 09X Brett Calonge
10. 04X Richard Humfeld
11. 23 Gary Lucas
12. 33 Don R. Quinn
13. 16 Terry Cannon

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!