Dale Kelly Wins First Feature Of The Final Night Of Points, Austin Sanders Wins Championship For Open Wheel Modifieds At East Bay Raceway Park

November 23, 2013 by  
Filed under Featured, Racing Results, Stories

Kelley Winner 11-23-13

November 23, 2013 – Tampa, FL – It was the tune up race for the Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds before the Reutimann Foundation 50 for the Modifieds next Saturday night. Also racing were the Limited Late Models, Outlaw Fours, Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers and the Florida Old Time Modifieds.

The first feature of the night was the Florida Old Time Modifieds. Winning their heats were Charlie Mixson and David Kelly. For the feature it would be Tom McDonald and Gary Riccio making up the front row. Tom McDonald would lead the first lap until lap two when Roger Herbach took over the lead. Roger would lead until lap eleven until Jamie Franklin took over the lead and went on to win the feature under a caution free race. Rounding out the top five were Roger Herbach, Dan Darnell, David Kelly and Steve Campbell.

Next up were the Limited Late Models. Winning their heats were Shane Koperda and Thomas Scott. Stephen Hohlbaugh and Jason Dyal would make up the front row for the feature. It took three attempts to get the race started with cars tangling in turn four the first time and then piling up in turn one the second time. So on the third attempt it was Jason Dyal leading the first lap until Roger Crouse took over on lap two. Caution came out on lap four for debris on the track. Only a few more cautions would come out as Roger Crouse went on to win the feature with Dale Pope unofficially winning the points championship for the 2013 Season. Pope would finish second with Forrest Gough, Shane Koperda and Jeremey Simpson rounding out the top five.

Outlaw Fours would be next with Eric Knight winning the heat. On the front row it would be Jesse James Foster and Knight for the feature. Foster would lead the first three laps until caution would come out for debris. Several more cautions would come out but on lap nine points leader Foster would break on the back stretch. Brandon Yates would take the final green and go on to win his first ever feature in the Outlaw Fours. It was a very emotional celebration as his dad John had tears of joy as his son and he embraced in Victory Lane. Rounding out the top five were Nick Hebrank, Rachelle Rudolph, Jesse James Foster and Eric Knight.

The Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds were next with Nate Bregenzer and Bobby Dixon winning their heats. For the feature Steve Miller and Jerry Bruce, Jr. would make up the front row. Miller would lead lap one until lap seven when Dale Kelley took the lead and never looked back in a caution free feature. Austin Sanders finished second and went on to win his third Championship in the last four years in the Open Wheel Modifieds. Brothers Matt Miller and Steve Miller finished third and fourth while Jerry Bruce, Jr. rounded out the top five.
Final feature of the night would be the Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers with George Handy and Kayla Jones winning their heats and would make up the front row for the feature. It would be the another caution free feature as George Handy went on to win the feature with a good battle from second on back to sixth place. Jimmy Baker finished second with Patrick Fiore, Sr., Kayla Jones, and Wayne Kissam rounding out the top five.

ASA racing continues next weekend with the Late Models, and a battle of the Reutimann’s as David and Buzzie will battle for bragging rights in the Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds in the Reutimann Foundation 50 as the Modifieds will race for 50 laps for their feature. Also racing will be the Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks, Outlaw Fours and the V8 Warriors. For further information, log on to www.eastbayracewaypark.com for call 813-677-7223 for more information.

Florida Old Time Modifieds 12 Lap Feature
1. 1 Jamie Franklin
2. 47 Roger Herbach
3. 111 Dan Darnell
4. 46 David Kelly
5. 96 Steve Campbell
6. 22B Tom McDonald
7. 03 Gary Riccio
8. 28 Bob Fink
9. 3 Charlie Mixson
10. 439 Richie Iverson
11. 11 Robert Campbell
12 22 Mark Steve (DNS)

Limited Late Models 15 Lap Feature
1. 45 Roger Crouse
2. Dale Pope
3. 99 Forrest Gough
4. 15 Shane Koperda
5. 73 Jeremy Simpson
6. 22 Todd Ford
7. 29 Stephen Hohlbaugh
8. 49 Randy Shields
9. 7jr Jesse Brown
10. 77D Jason Dyl
11. 57 Curtis Book
12. X John Bradley
13. 61 Thomas Scott

Outlaw Fours 15 Lap Feature
1. 53 Brandon Yates
2. 9 Nick Hebrank
3. 51 Rachelle Rudolph
4. 58 Jesse James Foster
5. 12 Erick Knight
6. 5$ Sherman Pope
7. 47 Billy Howard (DQ No Muffler)
8. 75 Jake Hampton (DQ Refuse to teardown)

Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds 15 Lap Feature
1. 22 Dale Kelley
2. 64 Austin Sanders.
3. 8M Matt Miller
4. 8S Steve Miller
5. 35 Jerry Bruce, Jr.
6. 27N Nate Bregenzer
7. 205 Bobby Dixon
8. d00 Roger Crouse
9. 00 Buzzie Reutimann
10. 87 John Bradley
11. 15x Paul Rivall

Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers 15 Lap Feature
1. 22 George Handy
2. 69x Jimmy Baker
3. 88 Patrick Fiore, Sr.
4. 4 Kayla Jones
5. 07 Wayne Kissam
6. 66 John Moore
7. 0 Darrell Taylor
8. 911 Robert Kissam
9. 04x Richard Humfeld
10. 23 Gary Lucas
11. L13 Jeremey Douglas
12. 33 Don R. Quinn
13. 09x Brett Calonge
14. 01 Aaron Widner
15. 16 Terry Cannon

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!