Billy Boyd, Jr. Wins 2013 East Bay Sprint Championship At East Bay Raceway Park

November 10, 2013 by  
Filed under Featured, Racing Results, Stories

Boyd Winner 11-9-13

November 9, 2013 – Tampa, FL It was the final points night of the East Bay Sprints with Billy Boyd, Jr. holding a narrow points lead over defending Champion Kerry Gilbert. Also racing were the Late Models, Outlaw Fours, V8 Warriors and the 4 Cylinder Bombers.

First feature of the night went to the V8 Warriors with Jody Robbins and Jeff Weaver winning their heats. For the front row of the feature it was Raymond Vann and Bo Anderson. When the green waved it was Vann quickly taking over the lead until the first caution came out on lap one for Ron Smith and Henry Wiley tangling in turn one. When the green waved once again Jeff Weaver would then take over on lap two until lap four when the caution came out for Wiley spinning in turn one. Green waved again and it would be Tommy Hill taking over the lead on lap ten with the caution coming out once again. Hill would retain the lead only to give way to Weaver on lap twelve who went on to win his fifth feature of the year. Rounding out the top five were Tommy Hill, Raymond Vann, Don Foligno and Brett Phillips.

Next up were the Late Models. Winning their heats were Jack Nosbisch, Jr., John Koller and Travis Varnadore. It would be Koller and Nosbisch, Jr. making up the front row for the feature. Nosbisch, Jr. took the early lead with Doug Horton right behind him. First caution of the night went to Adam Boyd spinning in turn two on lap three. Green flag waved for the next nine laps as Nosbich, Jr., Horton and Travis Varnadore made their way through lapped traffic until Wallace Peacock slowed and came to rest bringing out the caution. Green waved again as Nosbisch, Jr. continued to lead the way until lap fifteen when Jimmy Waldrop hit the front stretch wall ending his night. With just two laps remaining Koller and Crouse tangled in turn four with Nosbisch, Jr. just missing the two cars. It then would be a two lap dash for Nosbisch, Jr. as he went on to win second feature in his third time behind the wheel of his new Rocket Chassis car. “This car has been good right from the start” Jack said in Victory Lane. Rounding out the top five were Doug Horton, Travis Varnadore, Steve Miller and Mavrick Varnadore.

Next up were the Outlaw Fours. Winning the heat was Billy Howard as he and Nick Hebrank would start on the front row of the feature. Howard quickly took over the top spot with Zach Amundsen right on his back bumper lap after lap. By lap ten the two were side by side at the line with Howard over Amundsen by just a half a car length. Howard would go on to win with Zach Amundsen, Jesse James Foster, Nick Hebrank and William Hampton rounding out the top five.

Next up were the East Bay Sprints and winning their heats were DJ Peeples, Keith Butler and Billy Boyd, Jr. Frank Beck and Billy Boyd, Jr. would make up the front row for the feature. It would be the final point’s race for the Sprints as Boyd, Jr. leading and the defending Champion Kerry Gilbert right behind him by just a narrow margin. When the green waved Boyd, Jr. quickly took the lead with a hard charging David Steele after starting in the sixth position found his way up to second after just one lap. Several cautions came out during the beginning of the race with Boyd, Jr. showing the way and Steele trying to hunt him down. On lap eleven it was Ken Laureno losing his front wheel after making contact with the front stretch wall ending his night. So when the race continued Boyd, Jr. was out in front with Steele trying to reel him in with Gilbert back in the third spot. The final caution would come out with just two to go as Keith Butler would have problems and would end his night running in the top five. When the checkered waved Boyd, Jr. found himself in Victory Lane and winning the Championship for the 2013 Season. Boyd had five starts and had four wins out of those five. Mother Nature played a big part in the East Bay Sprints this year as some of those rain-outs came when the Sprints were scheduled to race. Boyd, Jr. had a grin from ear to ear and quickly thanked all his sponsors including the Aman’s Family for having faith in him and putting him behind the wheel of their car. He also thanked Maxim Chassis, Aggressive Racing Shocks, Kustom Sprint Car Supplies, Manikis Performance Parts, Gaerte Racing Engines and Ricky T’s. Rounding out the top five were David Steele, Frank Beck, Kerry Gilbert and Kyle Pitts.

Last feature of the night belonged to the 4 Cylinder Bombers. Winning their heats were Jimmy Baker and John Moore. Making up the front row would be Michael Lacey and Don R. Quinn. Lacey quickly led the first three laps until caution came out for debris on the track. Lacey would lead the way once the race resumed until Jimmy Baker took over the lead on lap four. Baker was being chased by point’s leader John Moore as they were side by side at the line on laps five and on lap eight. But it was on the last lap when John Moore took over the lead and went on to Victory Lane picking up his tenth feature win of the year. Rounding out the top five were Jimmy Baker, George Handy, Michael Lacey and Kayla Jones.

ASA racing continues next weekend with the Late Models, Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks, V8 Warriors and the 4 Cylinder Bombers PLUS a ladies Powder Puff race in the 4 Cylinder Bombers. For further information, log on to for call 813-677-7223 for more information.

V8 Warriors 15 Lap Feature
1. 26 Jeff Weaver
2. 5H Tommy Hill
3. 32 Raymond Vann
4. 98 Don Foligno
5. 28 Brett Phillips
6. 33 Bo Anderson
7. 51 Ron Smith
8. 11 Henry Wiley
9. 50 Steve Voisinet
10. 3Z William Suggs
11. 09 Jody Robbins
12. 08 Tim Stoffel
13. 89 Derek Gray (DNS)
14. 80 Kevin Cassaday (DQ)
15. 93 Marco Reyes (DQ)

Late Models 25 Lap Feature
1. 12 Jack Nosbisch, Jr.
2. 11 Doug Horton
3. 41 Travis Varnadore
4. 8S Steve Miller
5. 14 Mavrick Varnadore
6. 105 David Schmuass
7. 32 Phillip Cobb
8. 8M Matt Miller
9. 2X Tommy Prince
10. 15 Roger Crouse
11. 88 David Pollen, Jr.
12. 1* John Koller
13. 25 Gary Foxworth
14. 87 John Norris
15. 9 Jimmy Waldrop
16. 6 Adam Boyd
17. P1 Wallace Peacock
18. 46M Kyle Musselman
19. 54 Dalton Myers
20. 11M Megan Meyer
21. 985 Henry Burnside

Outlaw Fours 15 Lap Feature
1. 47 Billy Howard
2. 20 Zach Amundsen
3. 58 Jesse James Foster
4. 9 Nick Hebrank
5. 75 William Hampton
6. 19 Don T. Quinn
7. 51 Rachelle Rudolph

East Bay Sprints 20 Lap Feature
1. 9 Billy Boyd, Jr.
2. 33 David Steele
3. 2B Frank Beck
4. 55 Kerry Gilbert
5. 7 Kyle Pitts
6. 3T Johnny Alexander
7. 1* Tim George
8. 21 Jason Webster
9. 21A Rebecca George
10. 10X Sean Clark
11. 19 Keith Butler
12. 30 DJ Peeples
13. 36 Ken Laureno
14. 52M Joe Metcalf
15. 07 Clint Reynolds
16. 80 Lorenzo Capitano
17. 11 David Kelly
18. 8 Rich Alexander 4 Cylinder Bombers 15 Lap Feature
1. 66 John Moore
2. 69X Jimmy Baker
3. 22 George Handy
4. 19B Michael Lacey
5. 4 Kayla Jones
6. 04X Richard Humfeld
7. 07 Wayne Kissam
8. 18 Dalton Goldhammer
9. 33 Don R. Quinn
10. 119 Robert Purcell
11. 14 Christian Berger
12. 23 Gary Lucas
13. 71 Darrell Taylor
14. 09x Brett Calonge
15. 16 Terry Cannon
16. 88 Patrick Fiore, Sr.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!