Danny Martin, Jr. Wins Eagle Jet Top Gun Sprints Feature At East Bay Raceway Park

September 14, 2013 by  
Filed under Featured, Racing Results, Stories

MartinJr winner 9-14-13

September 14, 2013 – Tampa, FL – It was the return of the Eagle Jet Top Sprints as they were back in action for their make-up race on June 22nd as Mother Nature rained the entire night of events out. Also racing tonight were the Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks, Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds, Outlaw Fours and the Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers.

First feature of the night was the Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks. Winning their heats were Mike Wilson and David Barwick, II. For the feature it would be William Burnside and David Barwick, II making up the front row. When the green waved it was Burnside taking the early lead until Ronnie Whitley crashed hard on the front stretch nearly taking the rear end out of his car. Whitley was ok as he walked to the pits in disappointment. On the restart Burnside led the field to the green with Mike Wilson and Roberto Morfin, Sr. trailing right behind him. Wilson would take over the lead on the very next lap. Caution would come out on lap eight as Justan Rodgers spun in turn two after running in the third position. Rodgers would find himself spun on the front stretch heading in the wrong direction on the next lap and would have to go to the rear of the field once again. Caution would come out a few more times but on lap twelve it was Wilson and Burnside battling it out at the line as caution would wave on lap thirteen as William Burnside found himself spinning out in turn two after running in the second spot. With just two laps remaining Mike Wilson was trying to hold off Dennis Wilson, Jr. and David Barwick, II and Rodgers who had found his way up to back up to fourth. On the final lap it was Wilson, Wilson, Jr and Rodgers diving into turn four with Rodgers coming from the third spot to take the win. Dennis Wilson, Jr. would finish second with Mike Wilson, David Barwick,II and Roberto Morfin, Sr. rounding out the top five.

Next were the Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds. Winning the heat was Austin Sanders. Making up the front row of the feature was Buzzie Reutimann and Matt Miller. Matt Miller would lead the first lap until the next lap when Thomas Pratt would take over the lead and never surrender as the Modifieds went green white checkered with no cautions. Rounding out the top five were Matt Miller, Buzzie Reutimann, Austin Sanders and Dale Kelley.

The Eagle Jet Top Gun Sprints were next with Tony Agin, A.J. Maddox and Tim George winning their heats making them eligible for the Jeff Barfield Clean Sweep Award if they won the Feature. Agin won the feature the last time the Eagle Jet Top Gun Sprints ran here which was on May 11th. It was Agin starting on the outside front row with Tim George starting on the pole. When the green waved George quickly jumped into the lead until Shane Kriedler spun in turn one. On the restart it was Maddox and Agin chasing down Tim George until lap seven when Johnny Alexander spun in turn one almost collecting the leader Tim George. George led the way on the restart with Maddox still in tow with Billy Boyd, Jr. now up to third. AJ Maddox took over the lead on lap eight as Boyd spun to the infield front stretch bringing out the caution. Maddox would continue to lead the way until lap thirteen when Steve Mueller spun collecting Johnny Alexander as he spun and ended on his side. Several cautions including a red came out as Rich Alexander’s car backed into the wall in turn three on lap seventeen and Lorenzo Capitano flipped and the red came out as he crashed in the same spot as Alexander on lap twenty one. The final restart of the race came with just three laps remaining. Danny Martin, Jr. took over on lap twenty one just before the last caution and went on to winning the $1,000 sponsored by All Steel Building and Alafia Marine. “A.J. and I used to be team mates so he learned a little from me and has become a much better driver these last few months” Martin, Jr. stated in Victory Lane. “The last time we were here had some motor problems and the motor in the car this time is mine as Shaw provided a great car and a great set up as well” he also stated in Victory Lane. Rounding out the top five was A.J. Maddox, David Slawiak, Darren Orth and Tim George.

Next were the Outlaw Fours. Winning the heat was Jesse James Foster as Foster would start on the outside front row next to Brandon Yates. Yates would lead the first five laps until he slowed on the front stretch and with nowhere to go Billy Howard made contact with him. Howard was able to hang on and would take over the top spot on the restart. Then on lap six it was Foster taking over the lead from Howard and going on to win the feature with Billy Howard finishing second while Nick Hebrank, Rachelle Rudolph and Megan Meyer rounded out the top five.

Final feature of the night was the Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers. Winning their heats were John Moore and Jeremey Douglas. Darrell Taylor and Jimmy Baker would make up the front row for the feature. On the first lap it was Taylor and Baker at the line side by side as Baker would take over the lead on lap two. Caution would come out on lap three as Don R. Quinn had a right front flat sending him to the pits for the night. Baker would lead the next two laps until Raymond Vann would take over the lead and not look back picking up his third feature win of the season. It was Troy Dittebrand who made a last turn pass coming out of turn four to finish second as Jimmy Baker, John Moore and Gene Gross rounded out the top five.

ASA racing continues next weekend as the Late Models, Limited Late Models, Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks, V8 Warriors and the Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers. For further information, log on to www.eastbayracewaypark.com for call 813-677-7223 for more information.

Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks 15 Lap Feature
1. 95 Justan Rodgers
2. 42 Dennis Wilson, Jr.
3. 68 Mike Wilson
4. 89 David Barwick, II
5. 48M Roberto Morfin, Sr.
6. 55R Buck Woodhouse
7. 24 Dennis Williams
8. 32 Michael Eaton
9. 31 William Burnside
10. 09 Jessica Robbins
11. 75 Billy Barstow
12. 100 Ronnie Heard
13. 13 Thomas Burnside
14. 49 Doug Johnson
15. 84 Ronnie Whitley

Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds 15 Lap Feature
1. 81 Thomas Pratt
2. 8M Matt Miller
3. 00 Buzzie Reutimann
4. 64 Austin Sanders
5. 22 Dale Kelley
6. 27N Nate Bregenzer
7. 205 Bobby Dixon
8. 15X Paul Rivall

Eagle Jet Top Gun Sprints 25 Lap Feature
1. 24 Danny Martin, Jr.
2. 3A AJ Maddox
3. 79 David Slawiak
4. 34 Darren Orth
5. 1* Tim George
6. 7 Kyle Pitts
7. 52M Aussie Joe
8. 07 Clint Reynolds
9. 21A Rebecca George
10. G6 Brandon Grubaugh
11. 6 Mike Schroeder
12. 52 Shane Kriedler
13. 80 Lorenzo Capitano
14. 38 Tony Agin
15. 21 Jason Webster
16. 8 Rich Alexander
17. 3T Johnny Alexander
18. 29 Steve Mueller
19. 02 Gene Lasker
20. 9 Billy Boyd, Jr.
21. 82 Matt Kurtz (DNS)
22. 30 DJ Peeples (DQ Too Light)

Outlaw Fours 15 Lap Feature
1. 58 Jesse James Foster
2. 47 Billy Howard
3. 9 Nick Hebrank
4. Rachelle Rudolph
5. Megan Meyer
6. 53 Brandon Yates
7. 75 Jake Hampton

Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers 15 Lap Feature
1. 1V Raymond Vann
2. 222 Troy Dittebrand
3. 69X Jimmy Baker
4. 66 John Moore
5. 4L Gene Gross
6. 04X Richard Humfeld
7. 4 Kayla Jones
8. 23 Gary Lucas
9. 14B Bailey Purcell
10. 33 Don R. Quinn
11. 0 Darrell Taylor
12. L13 Jeremey Douglas
13. 22 George Handy
14. 09X Brett Calonge
15. 19B Michael Lacey
16. 9B Jeff Lacey
19 119 Robert Purcell

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!