Keith Nosbisch Wins By Mere Inches Over Crouse In Late Model Feature At East Bay Raceway Park

August 31, 2013 by  
Filed under Featured, Racing Results, Stories

Nosbisch Winer 8-31-13

August 31, 2013 – Tampa, FL – It was a night of non-stop action at East Bay Raceway Park as five divisions were on hand. Late Models had their warm-up race before the Scott Thompson Memorial next weekend on September 7th. Also on hand tonight were the Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds, Outlaw Fours, Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks and the 4 Cylinder Bombers.

First feature of the night was the Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks. Winning their heats were Mike Wilson and Thomas Burnside. For the front row of the 15 Lap Feature Event were Justan Rodgers and Thomas Burnside. When the green flag waved it was Burnside taking over the lead on lap one and not looking back as he had Mike Wilson and Justan Rodgers trying to chase him down. Burnside was leading until his brother William Burnside spun with just five laps remaining. That put Wilson and Rodgers right on his back bumper for the five remaining laps. With just one lap to go it was fourth place Micheal Eaton spinning in turn four bringing out the final caution of the race. So when the green and white were waved together, Burnside went on to win his very first feature in the Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks. Rounding out the top five were Mike Wilson, Dennis Wilson, Jr., Buck Woodhouse and William Burnside.

Up next were the Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds. Winning their heats were Bobby Dixon and Austin Sanders. Sanders would start on the outside front row with Nate Bregenzer on the pole for the feature event. Sanders quickly jumped out to the front spot with Bregenzer, Dixon and Roger Crouse trying to chase him down. On lap seven it was Buzzie Reutimann spinning in turn four and would have to go to the rear of the field. On the restart Sanders led the way until Jerry Bruce spun in turn one and with nowhere to go, Reutimann made contact with Bruce ending his night as he headed to the pits and had a tenth place finish. Green waved once again and Bregenzer was trying to get by Sanders until the caution came out on lap twelve as third place Dixon spun in turn as several cars were able to avoid contact with him. When the checkered waved Sanders went on to win his sixth feature win of season as he tries to win his third Championship in four years. Rounding out the top five was Roger Crouse, Dale Kelley, Matt Miller and Nate Bregenzer.

Next was the tune up race for the Late Models as they are getting ready for next week’s 50 Lap Feature paying $3,800 to the winner sponsored by Airgas for the makeup date of the Scott Thompson Memorial. Winning heats were Keith Nosbisch and Dalton Myers. For the feature it was two former Champions on the front row, David Schmauss and defending Champion Roger Crouse. When the green waved several cars made contact in turn two making it a complete restart. The green waved once again at the second attempt and David Schmauss led the first eight laps with Crouse hot on his heels. Crouse took over the lead on lap nine and seemed to have everything under control as he was able to hold off Schmauss, Rich Pratt, Keith Nosbisch and Dalton Myers. But with just five laps remaining in the caution free race, Nosbisch was able to get around Pratt and chase down Schmauss and Crouse. On lap twenty four, Nosbisch made his way around Schmauss and was closing in on Crouse. Crouse and Nosbisch headed into turn three almost side by side as Nosbisch drove his car underneath Crouse coming out of turn four and winning by mere inches over Crouse at the finish line. “I think we bent something on the first accident on the backstretch. So we will take it back to the shop to see if anything broke” Keith stated in Victory Lane. “I’ve won the Scott Thompson before and look forward to repeating and picking up the guitar trophy” Keith also stated. The trophy is created by Scott Sweet and it is a guitar especially created for the event every year. Rounding out the top five was Roger Crouse, David Schmauss, Rich Pratt and Dalton Myers.

Next up were the Outlaw Fours. Winning the heat was Stephen Hohlbaugh. Nick Hebrank and Brandon Yates made up the front row for the feature. Leading the way was Hebrank until the first caution came out on lap two as several cars got together on the front stretch. When the green waved once again it was Hebrank leading the remaining thirteen laps without a caution picking up his first win of the 2013 Season. Rounding out the top five were Stephen Hohlbaugh, Billy Howard, Brandon Yates and Jesse James Foster.

The final event of the night was the 4 Cylinder Bombers. Winning heats were Don R. Quinn, Raymond Vann and Jimmy Baker. Making up the front row for the feature were Richard Humfeld and Darrell Taylor. When the green waved it was Richard Humfeld leading the first lap until Raymond Vann went around Humfeld and took over the top spot until the only caution of the race came out on lap eight as Robert Kissam slightly tagged the wall in turn two and came to rest ending his night. When the green waved it was Vann leading the way with John Moore behind him lap after lap until the checkered waved as Raymond Vann went on and picked up back to back wins with John Moore, Jimmy Baker, Don R. Quinn and Darrell Taylor rounding out the top five. It was a scary moment on the cool down lap as Taylor’s car went up in flames with a trail of fire following behind him. Taylor quickly got out of his car and the flames were extinguished.

ASA racing continues next weekend as the Late Models race for 50 Laps paying $3,800 sponsored by Airgas in the Scott Thompson Memorial. Also racing will be the Limited Late Models, V8 Warriors, Florida Old Time Mods and the 4 Cylinder Bombers. For further information, log on to for call 813-677-7223 for more information.

Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks 15 Lap Feature
1. 13 Thomas Burnside
2. 68 Mike Wilson
3. 42 Dennis Wilson, Jr.
4. 55R Buck Woodhouse
5. 31 William Burnside
6. 32 Michael Eaton
7. 48M Roberto Morfin, Sr.
8. 09 Roy Woodhouse
9. 49 Doug Johnson
10. 75 Billy Barstow
11. 09 Jessica Robbins (DNS)
12. 89 David Barwick, II (DNS)
13. 95 Justan Rodgers (DQ in Tech)

Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds 15 Lap Feature
1. 64 Austin Sanders
2. D00 Roger Crouse
3. 22 Dale Kelley
4. 8M Matt Miller
5. 27N Nate Bregenzer
6. 87 John Bradley
7. 205 Bobby Dixon
8. 35 Jerry Bruce
9. 27 Bruce Harvey
10. Buzzie Reutimann
11. 15X Paul Rivall

Late Models 25 Lap Feature
1. 02 Keith Nosbisch
2. 15 Roger Crouse
3. 105 David Schmauss
4. 0 Rich Pratt
5. 54 Dalton Myers
6. 38 Shan Smith
7. 1* John Koller
8. 46M Kyle Musselman
9. 2 Paul Gibbs
10. 87 John Norris
11. 120 Jamie Burrows
12. 8S Steve Miller
13. 49 Randy Shields
14. 11 Jamie Slatton
15. 985 Henry Burnside
16. 83 Wayne Hayes

Outlaw Fours 15 Lap Feature
1. 9 Nick Hebrank
2. 75 Stephen Hohlbaugh
3. 47 Billy Howard
4. 53 Brandon Yates
5. 58 Jesse James Foster
6. 3 Raymond Folwell
7. 12 Eric Knight
8. 51 Rachelle Rudolph 4 Cylinder Bombers 15 Lap Feature
1. 1V Ramond Vann
2. 66 John Moore
3. 69X Jimmy Baker
4. 33 Don R. Quinn
5. 0 Darrell Taylor
6. 09X Brett Calonge
7. 4L Gene Gross
8. 4 George Handy
9. 23 Gary Lucas
10. 222 Troy Dittebrand
11. L13 Jeremey Douglas
12. 318 Chris Morris
13. 119 Robert Purcell
14. 04X Richard Humfeld
15. 911 Robert Kissam
16. 27N Jimmy Williams
17. 47M Bubba Puyear
18. 71 Jimmy Yankovich
19. 813 Stephen Morris
20. 4 Kayla Jones (DNS)

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!