Buzzie Reutimann Dominates Larry Miller Memorial Paying $2,000 To Win For Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds

August 17, 2013 by  
Filed under Bulletins, Featured, Racing Results, Stories

Reutimann Winner 8-17-13

August 17, 2013 – Tampa, FL – It was another night of excitement as crowds anticipated if Mother Nature would play spoils to the Larry Miller Memorial for the Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds. The original date was set on June 22nd but was rained out before the night started. A light shower came around 4:30 pm but cleared out as pit gates were opened around 5:00 pm and cars and fans entered the pits and grandstands. Also racing were the Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks, Florida Old Time Mods and the 4 Cylinder Bombers.

First feature of the night went to the Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks as William Burnside and Mike Wilson won their heats and made up the front row for the feature event. When the green waved it was Wilson taking charge and leading the way for the first eleven laps until William Burnside spun in turn four while battling with his brother Thomas for the third position. On the restart it was Wilson leading the way with Jeff Rodgers and Thomas Burnside your top three. On lap thirteen it was Thomas Burnside spinning out in turn two while running in the third position. With just two laps remaining Wilson went on to win his first feature of the 2013 Season. Mike was all smiles getting out of his car and getting a kiss from his wife as his car owner and crew met him in Victory Lane. Rounding out the top five were Jeff Rodgers, Dennis Wilson, Jr., Buck Woodhouse in the 55R driving by his brother as his car had blown up during the heat races. Michael Eaton would be your fifth place finisher.

Next up were the Florida Old Time Modifieds. Winning the heat was Dan Darnell. For the front row of the feature it was Bob Fink and Tom McDonald. When the green waved McDonald led the first lap until a hard charging Roger Herbach took over on lap two. Then on lap four it was Jamie Franklin leading the way until the checkered flag waved. Rounding out the top five were David Kelly, Dan Darnell, Roger Herbach and Tom McDonald.

Next it was the Larry Miller Memorial for the Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds 50 Lap Feature paying $2,000 to the winner. Winning their heats were Buzzie Reutimann and Bruce Harvey and would also make up the front row for the feature. It was Reutimann leading the way into turn one and leading the first lap. After ten laps of green flag racing it was Buzzie continuing to lead the way with Matt Miller, Larry Miller’s eldest son followed by Bruce Harvey, Steve Miller, Larry’s other son and Jerry Bruce. The first caution came out on lap twenty as Jerry Bruce would spin losing his fifth spot to Austin Sanders driving the 205 of Bobby Dixon. Sanders had blown his motor in the heat race and Dixon was generous to lend Sanders the ride as Sanders is leading the points looking for his third Championship in four years here at East Bay. Two laps later another caution would come out for Nate Bregenzer as he spun in turn one. At the halfway point it was Reutimann holding off Matt Miller, Bruce Harvey, Steve Miller and Devin Dixon. Caution waved on lap thirty as Dale Kelley spun in turn two. The green waved and Reutimann continued to hold off the field as the caution would wave on lap forty as Matt Miller after running in the fourth position had spun in turn two. The final restart with just nine laps to go, Reutimann was able to hold off the charges of Devin Dixon winning the race from flag to flag. Reutimann said in Victory Lane that he had to be poured out of this car laughing as he got out. “If the fans could see my dash they saw a red light flashing and it was my oil temperature getting hot so I had to keep going and go for the win” Buzzie stated. Buzzie also thanked his son David for his support and also thanked the fans for coming out tonight. Rounding out the top five were Devin Dixon, Steve Miller, Bill Howard and Austin Sanders.

Final event of the night was the 4 Cylinder Bombers. Winning their heats were John Moore and Darrell Taylor. Making up the front row for the feature were Kayla Jones and Jimmy Baker. Just before the feature had started, a light shower was starting to fall over the track. When the green waved, the cars seemed to slide and the yellow was thrown as it was too slick for the drivers and would be sent to the pits until it was safe to race. After a short twenty minute delay, drivers were called back to their cars and headed back out onto the track for a complete restart. When the green waved again it was Jimmy Baker taking the lead with John Moore and Raymond Vann chasing down Baker. On lap three Moore took over the lead with Vann in second and Baker third. The first caution would come out on lap six as debris from a rear bumper was on the front stretch bringing out the red so the safety crew could clean up and no tires would be damaged from the debris. On the final restart on lap six it was Moore holding off Vann and Baker picking up his eighth win of the season. Rounding out the top five was Don R. Quinn finishing fourth and Darrell Taylor finishing fifth.

ASA racing continues next weekend with the Bob Long Memorial for the East Bay Sprints. Also racing will be the Outlaw Fours, V8 Warriors and the 4 Cylinder Bombers. For further information, log on to for call 813-677-7223 for more information.

Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks 15 Lap Feature
1. 68 Mike Wilson
2. 95 Jeff Rodgers
3. 42 Dennis Wilson, Jr.
4. 55R Buck Woodhouse
5. 32 Michael Eaton
6. 75 Billy Barstow
7. 31 William Burnside
8. 89 David Barwick, II
9. 13 Thomas Burnside
10. 48M Roberto Morfin, Sr.
11. 7 Stephen Hohlbaugh
12. 49 Doug Johnson
13. 12 Garry Sheffield (DNS)
14. 55R Roy Woodhouse (DNS)

Florida Old Time Modifieds 12 Lap Feature
1. 1 Jamie Franklin
2. 46 David Kelly
3. 111 Dan Darnell
4. 47 Roger Herbach
5. 22B Tom McDonald
6. 28 Bob Fink
7. 11 Robert Campbell
8. 14 Kathy Herbach
9. 24 Mark Steve

Larry Miller Memorial Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds 50 Lap Feature
1. 00 Buzzie Reutimann
2. 2 Devin Dixon
3. 8S Steve Miller
4. 47 Bill Howard
5. 205 Austin Sanders
6. 8M Matt Miller
7. 22 Dale Kelley
8. 27N Nate Bregenzer
9. 88 David Pollen, Jr.
10. 35 Jerry Bruce
11. 15X Paul Rivall
12. 15 Todd Blevins (DNS)
13. 205 Bobby Dixon (DNS)
14. 27 Bruce Harvey (DQ) 4 Cylinder Bombers 15 Lap Feature
1. 66 John Moore
2. 1V Ramond Vann
3. 69X Jimmy Baker
4. 33 Don R. Quinn
5. 0 Darrell Taylor
6. 4 Kayla Jones
7. 4L Gene Gross
8. 222 Troy Dittebrand
9. L13 Jeremey Douglas
10. 54 Richard Humfeld
11. 88X Patrick Fiore, Sr.
12. 22 George Handy
13. 09X Brett Calonge
14. 985 Jason Burnside
15. 813 Stephen Morris
16. 911 Robert Kissam
17. 23 Gary Lucas

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!