Great Night For Annual Redneck Smash-A-Rama At East Bay Raceway Park.

July 27, 2013 by  
Filed under Featured, Racing Results, Stories

motorhome jump 2

July 27, 2013 – Tampa, FL – It was another great night here at The Clay By The Bay. The Annual Redneck Smash-A-Rama went off with the weather as hot as the action all around the track in all the classes.

The night started out with the 4 Cylinder Bombers as they raced for $300 to win and Triple Points towards their Championship Points at the end of the year. It was a 20 lap feature with Brett Calonge and Gene Gross starting on the front row. When the green flag waved it was Calonge leading the first lap until the first caution of the race came out as points leader John Moore and Eddie Fitchett tangled on the front stretch ending both of their nights. Calonge led the field on the restart with Gross right behind him. They next caution came out on lap four for debris on the front stretch. At the half way point it was still Calonge leading with Jim Baker now in second trying to chase down Calonge. Don Quinn had moved into third with Gross falling back to fourth and Jeremey Douglas running fifth. The final caution of the night came out on lap fifteen when Ed Rayburn and George Handy tangled in turn four. When the checkered waved it was Brett Calonge picking up his first win of the season. Rounding out the top five was Jimmy Baker, Gene Gross, Jeremey Douglas and Edward Rayburn. Also Alafia Boat & Marine added an extra $100 to the purse tonight.
Next up was the Ride-A-Long sponsored by Pepin Distributing and Budweiser. The Grand Prize Winner was Lynn Clark and her son Jason Miller took the ride with Late Model Driver David Schmauss. Jason said it was an awesome experience. The entire time going around the track, Jason was waving to the fans.

The next event was the Chain Race. The winners of the event were Jimmy Baker and Robert Kissam. Runners-up were Ed Rayburn and Collin Kruse.

Next event was the Reverse Race. The winner of that race was Jimmy Baker after just finishing the Chain race. Runner-up was Robbie Purcell.

Next was the Flag Pole race. It was an intense race as drivers had to maneuver around a big tire to complete a lap. It got really crazy as drivers were crashing into one another trying to get around and end up in Victory Lane. When the 15 laps were complete it Steve O’Lone in Victory Lane. Runner-up was Randy Tyler.

Next it was the ladies turn as they drove in the 4 Cylinder Bombers. The Powder Puff was a 12 lap feature event. The ladies put on one heck of a show as Angela Bryant, Michele Valdez and Kris Fitchett battled for the lead the entire race. But when the checkered waved it was Angela Bryant driving Jeremey Douglas’s car. Jeremey’s wife told Angela to drive like you stole and don’t lift. Angela said it Victory Lane that her son might lose his ride in his bomber cause she had a great time and loved to feeling of winning.

Next event was the Car-boat race. Cars had a boat attached to the rear bumpers of their cars and had to finish the race with the boat attached. Eight cars started the race and the last two with boats on their cars were Gary Lucas the winner of the event and Steven Utley finishing second.

Next up was the Motorhome Jump. Darrell Taylor and passenger Kayla Jones were looking to break last year’s record by going through the Motorhome three times or “As long as the car will last” said Taylor. The crowd was on their feet as Taylor and Jones blasted through the Motor home sponsored by LaRoche Wrecker Service from Wimauma. Taylor and Jones made it through three times and was ready for a fourth but the ramp had broken from the third jump. “I hope we can put Grandma’s car back together so she can go to church in morning” Taylor said after getting out of the car. The crowd laughed and applauded the two as they headed to the pits.

The final event of the night was the Demolition Derby. Last year’s winner Robbie Purcell was looking to make it two in a row, but had some troubles and didn’t make it till the end. But Robbie’s younger brother Bailey found himself the last car running and the winner of the 2013 Redneck Smash-A-Rama.

ASA racing continues next weekend with the Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds, Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks, Outlaw Fours, V8 Warriors an the 4 Cylinder Bombers. For further information, log on to or call 813-677-7223 for more information. 4 Cylinder Bombers 20 Lap Feature
1. 09X Brett Calonge
2. 69X Jimmy Baker
3. 4L Gene Gross
4. L13 Jeremey Douglas
5. 01 Edward Rayburn
6. 14 Christian Berger
7. 985 Jason Burnside
8. 88X Patrick Fiore, Sr.
9. 33 Don R. Quinn
10. 22 George Handy
11. 04 Steven Tabb
12. 27N Jimmy Williams
13. 911 Robert Kissam
14. 23 Gary Lucas
15. 813 Stephen Morris
16. Darrell Taylor
17. 07 Wayne Kissam
18. 318 Chris Morris
19. 66 John Moore
20. 54 Eddie Fitchett
21. 04x Richard Humfeld
22. 71 Jimmy Yankovich
23. 03 Patrick Tabb
24. 47 Bailey Purcell (DNS)

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!