East Bay Victorious Over Mother Nature After Six Weeks Of Rain Outs

July 20, 2013 by  
Filed under Bulletins, Featured, Stories

Dixon Winner 7-20-13

East Bay Victorious Over Mother Nature After Six Weeks Of Rain Outs

July 20, 2013 – Tampa, FL – It has been since May 25th since the last feature winner’s photo was taken in Victory Lane at East Bay Raceway Park. Tonight East Bay was victorious as cars and fans were able to attend The Clay By The Bay to hear the sounds of motors roaring down the front stretch and cars going side-ways through the turns on the 1/3 mile track. Five classes were on hand tonight as the Gagels, Open Wheel Modifieds, Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks, Outlaw Fours, V8 Warriors and the Florida Old Time Modifieds were on hand to put on a show for the hungry fans.

First feature of the night went to the Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks with Dennis Wilson, Jr and Thomas Burnside winning their heats. For the feature it was David Barwick, II and Tommy Hill making up the front row. Tommy Hill led the first lap until the caution came out as Billy Barstow spun in turn four. Hill would lead the next two laps until Jeff Rodgers and Mike Wilson tangled on the back stretch bringing out the second and final caution of the race. Tommy Hill would go on to cross the finish line first but was later dq’d in tech for the wrong tires. Hill from Clewiston made his return after five years and had borrowed tires from a fellow competitor. Buck Woodhouse who finished second was declared the winner with Thomas Burnside, Dennis Wilson, Jr., William Burnside and Jeff Rodgers rounding out the top five.

Next were the Outlaw Fours. Zack Amundsen and Eric Knight won their heats. For the feature it was Billy Howard and Stephen Hohlbaugh on the front row. When the green waved it was Howard taking the lead for the first six laps until he came to rest in turn four ending his hopes for a feature win. Hohlbaugh would take over the top spot with Jesse James Foster in second trying to reel in the leader on the restart. On lap eight it was Eric Knight coming to rest in turn one and would end his night as well. On the restart it was third place Foster who spun in turn three and tagged the wall coming to rest and would end his night as well. When the green waved, Hohlbaugh would go on to win his third feature in a row with Zack Amundsen, Nick Hebrank, Bill Mort and Brandon Yates rounding out the top five. Hebrank picked up an extra $100 courtesy of Alafia Boat & Marine in Gibsonton.

The Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds were next with Buzzie Reutimann and Austin Sanders winning their heats. Bobby Dixon and Thomas Pratt started on the front row when the green flag waved. On lap one it was Bobby Dixon and Devin Dixon battling for the lead and it was Devin by just a nose over Bobby at the line. First caution would come out just a few laps later as Dale Kelley spun in turn four. When the green waved once again, Dixon had Matt Miller charging hard lap after lap. On lap five it was the two side by side at the line with Dixon heading into turn one and going on to pick up the feature win. Rounding out the top five were Matt Miller, Austin Sanders, Bobby Dixon and Bruce Harvey. It was a very emotional win for Devin as tears rolled down his face and he dedicated his win to Team Tripp. Young Tripp Wayne Amundsen was born with Lissenchephaly and passed away just sixteen days after he was born. Our thoughts and prayers go out to Chase Amundsen and Samantha Stephens and to their entire families.

Next feature event was the V8 Warriors as Tommy Hill and Kevin Cassady won their heats and made up the front row. When the green waved it was Tommy Hill taking the lead for the first four laps until second place Jeff Weaver spun in turn two. Hill took the green once again and had a sizeable lead until caution came out with just three laps remaining for debris on the track. On the restart it was Brett Phillips coming to rest before the next lap could be scored. It was Tommy Hill taking the checkered flag once again as he did in the Street Stocks, but this time he was found legal and picked up the win. Rounding out the top five were Bill Whitney, Kevin Cassaday, Jeff Weaver and Ron Smith.

The final feature of the night went to the Florida Old Time Modifieds. Winning their heats were Tom McDonald and Dan Darnell. For the front row it was McDonald and Gary Riccio. When the green waved it was Lars Amundsen charging up from the middle of the field to take over the top spot on lap one. Amundsen would lead until lap seven when David Kelly would take the lead and go on to win as Darnell charged up from the rear of the field almost taking the win at the line. Darnell would go on to finish second with Jamie Franklin, Lars Amundsen and Gary Riccio rounding out the top five.
ASA racing continues next weekend with The Annual Redneck Smash-A-Rama. It is a Special Event and Prices are listed on the website. Race time will be 7:30 pm. Also racing will be the Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers, Ladies Powder Puff in the 4 Cylinder Bombers. Other events will include Flag Pole Race, Boat-Car Race, Reverse Race, Chain Race, and a Demo Derby. For further information, log on to www.eastbayracewaypark.com for call 813-677-7223 for more information.

Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks 15 Lap Feature
1. 55 Buck Woodhouse
2. 13 Thomas Burnside
3. 42 Dennis Wilson, Jr.
4. 31 William Burnside
5. 95 Jeff Rodgers
6. 68 Mike Wilson
7. 8 Austin Carr
8. 55R Roy Woodhouse
9. 12 Garry Sheffied
10. 89 David Barwick, II
12. 75 Billy Barstow
13. 95x Chris Graebner
14. 84 Ronnie Whitley
15. 1H Tommy Hill (DQ’D Illegal Tire)

Outlaw Fours
1. 75 Stephen Hohlbaugh
2. 20 Zach Amundsen
3. 9 Nick Hebrank (Bonus Pay courtesy Alafia Boat & Marine)
4. 6 Bill Mort
5. 53 Brandon Yates
6. 3 Raymond Folwell
7. 11 Megan Meyer
8. 51 Rachelle Rudolph
9. 58 Jesse James Foster
10. 12 Eric Knight
11. 47 Billy Howard

Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds
1. 2 Devin Dixon
2. 8M Matt Miller
3. 64 Austin Sanders
4. 205 Bobby Dixon
5. 27 Bruce Harvey
6. 00 Buzzie Reutimann
7. 8S Steve Miller
8. 22 Dale Kelley
9. 27N Nate Bregenzer
10. 8 Tim Gay
11. 35 Jerry Bruce
12. 81 Thomas Pratt

V8 Warriors
1. 5H Tommy Hill
2. 15 Bill Whitney
3. 80 Kevin Cassaday
4. 26 Jeff Weaver
5. 51 Ron Smith
6. 5R Derik Rose
7. 93 Marco Reyes
8. 08 Tim Stoffel
9. 01 Ed Rayburn
10. 7 Janien Dixon
11. 89 Derek Gray
12. 10 Jason Manning
13. 28 Brett Phillips
14. 09 Jessica Robbins
15. 11 Henry Wiley
16. 33 Bo Anderson
17. 98 Don Foligno (DNS)

Florida Old Time Modifieds
1. 46 David Kelly
2. 111 Dan Darnell
3. 1 Jamie Franklin
4. 22s Lars Amundsen
5. 03 Gary Riccio
6. 22B Tom McDonald
7. 40 Richard Svenson
8. 28 Bob Fink
9. 3 Charlie Mixson (DNS)
10. 11 Robert Campbell (DNS)
11. 24 Mark Steve (DNS)
12 439 Richie Iverson (DNS)
13. 47 Roger Herbach (DNS)

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!