Josh Peacock Wins Late Model Feature Event At East Bay Raceway Park

May 18, 2013 by  
Filed under Featured, Racing Results, Stories

Peacock 5-18-13 Winner

May 18th, 2013 – Tampa, FL – It was a night of action here at East Bay Raceway Park. Late Models, Limited Late Models, Outlaw Fours, V8 Warriors and the 4 Cylinder Bombers were all in action. But before the night got under way, a couple was here from Anchorage, Alaska on their honeymoon. Jessie and Chris Hawley decided to spend their evening here at East Bay Raceway Park.

The first feature of the night belonged to the Outlaw Fours. Winning their heats were Zach Amundsen and Dorsey Strickland and also made up the front row for the 15 lap feature event. When the green waved it was Strickland leading the way until lap five when Stephen Hohlbaugh took over the lead. The first caution came out on lap six when Brittany Yates and Megan Meyer tangled in turn four. When the green waved once again it was two laps later when Zach Amundsen spun in turn two after running in the second position. Green waved and it was still Hohlbaugh in first with Dorsey Strickland right behind him. It was on lap twelve when J.R. Baker hitting the front stretch wall while battling with Nick Hebrank for the third position coming out of turn four. When the checkered waved it was Hohlbaugh picking up his second win of the season with Jesse James Foster, Zach Amundsen, Nick Hebrank and Brittany Yates rounding out the top five.

Next up were the Limited Late Models. Winning their heats were Shane Koperda and Tim Powers. Scotty Williams and rookie Todd Ford made up the front row for the feature event. Crouse would go by the two on the first lap to lead lap one. The first caution would come out for Kyle Worden spinning in turn two. Several more cautions came out before the race got some laps in. Crouse was still leading with Powers still trailing him until another caution came out on lap eight as Worden spun once again in the bottom of turn four with the leaders nearly collecting him. When the checkered waved it was Crouse picking up his second win of the year with Tim Powers, Dale Pope, Forrest Gough and Waylon Haynes rounding out the top five.

It was Late Models up next for their 25 lap feature event. Winning their heats were Josh Peacock and Dean Varnadore who also made up the front row for the feature. When the green waved it was Peacock taking the top spot until turn three when Phillip Cobb got into the back of Varnadore causing a big pile up before the first lap would be scored. When the cars were cleared and the line-up was reset, Peacock and Roger Crouse would make up the front row. Peacock would lead the first eight laps until caution would come out for Cheryl Cochran spinning in the bottom of four almost collecting Peacock and second place Dave Schmauss. When the race was restarted, it wasn’t until lap twenty when the next caution came out as John Norris and Keven Devrieze slowed in turn three and the two would exit to the pits. When the race was back under way it was Josh Peacock picking up his second feature win of the year followed by Dave Schmauss, Kenny Monahan, Wallace Peacock and Phillip Cobb rounding out the top five.

V8 Warriors were up next with Ron Smith and Marco Reyes picking up the heat wins. Starting on the front row were Mike Wilson and William Suggs. When the green waved Wilson took the lead until lap three when the first caution would come out for Suggs. But under caution Wilson had problems and had to be pushed off the track and ended his night. Marco Reyes was the new leader with Brian Danforth and Jeff Weaver the top three. On lap four it was Jessica Robbins losing a tire in turn two ending her night. A few more cautions would come out before it was the restart on lap eight with Reyes leading until lap eleven when Danforth took over the top spot and crossed the finish line first. But it was in tech that Danforth was dq’d for Non Approved Mufflers handing the win over to Reyes. Tim Stoffel, Kevin Cassaday, Janien Dixon and Jeff Weaver rounded out the top five.

The final feature of the night went to the 4 Cylinder Bombers. Winning their heats were John Moore, Jimmy Baker and Jason Burnside. Richard Humfeld and Burnside would make up the front row for the 15 lap feature event. When the green flag waved it Humfeld leading the way until the red flag waved as Jeremy “JJ Speedy” Douglas went for a ride and landed on his roof. Douglas was okay and tried to get the car running again but was not able to continue. Caution came out on lap two as Baker stopped in turn two and headed to the pits and eventually returned to the track three laps down. Moore took over the lead on lap four and never looked back as he went on to win his sixth feature of the season. Rounding out the top five were George Handy, Patrick Tabb, Brett Calonge and Patrick Fiore, Sr. Handy came over in Victory Lane to congratulate Moore and said laughing “Man you got to give me the high line” Moore said “You got to have confidence in the high side to win”

ASA racing continues next weekend with the Late Models, Open Wheel Modifieds, Outlaw Fours, 4 Cylinder Bombers and the V8 Warriors. For further information, log on to for call 813-677-7223 for more information.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!