David Reutimann Wins 50 Lap Open Wheel Modified Race At East Bay, Crouse Crowned Late Model Champion

December 1, 2012 by  
Filed under Featured, Racing Results, Stories

December 1, 2012 – Tampa, FL – It was a night for the Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds as they ran for 50 Laps paying $2,000 in the David Reutimann Foundation 50. It was also a battle to the end for the Late Models as it was their last night for the points battle. Also racing were the Florida Old Time Mods, V8 Warriors and the Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers.

Before the feature events were to begin, Dianne Menendez won the auction from the David Reutimann Foundation on Friday November 23rd at the Siverado Golf & Country Club. David was the driver and when they completed the session, Dianne had a grin from ear to ear and said it was well worth it. David thanked all the fans for coming out and East Bay for putting on the Foundation 50 for the Modifieds.
First feature event of the night went to the Florida Old Time Mods. Richard Svenson and Jamie Frankland won their heat races. For the front row of the feature it was Mark Steve and Richard Svenson. Svenson led the first seven laps until Jamie Franklin took over the top spot with Roger Herbach and Dan Darnell chasing him down. Franklin went on to win the feature as they run the entire race caution free. Darnell finished second with Herbach, Rich Iverson and Svenson rounding out the top five.

Next was the David Reutimann Foundation 50 for the Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds. Winning their heats were David Pollen, Jr., David Reutimann and Dalton Lanich. For the front row of the feature it was Matt Miller and Lanich. On the initial green flag in turn two, Rich Pratt and Roger Crouse tangled ending Crouse’s night. So it would be a complete restart. When the green waved again, Pollen, Jr. led the field into turn one. The first caution would come out on lap four as several drivers tangled in turn two. One car not involved in the incident was Devin Dixon. Dixon’s night ended as he headed into the pits after running in the second position. Reutimann who was third at the time moved up to second. Several more cautions came out before the halfway point when Lanich spun in turn two. Pollen, Jr. was continuing to show his muscle over Reutimann until lap 47 as Pollen, Jr. slipped allowing Reutimann to take the lead. Pollen, Jr. slowed in turn one as something in the front suspension broke ending the 2012 Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds Champion’ hope for his first feature win on the 2012 Season. Now with just a few laps remaining, Reutimann now had the defending Champion Austin Sanders on his back bumper for the final three laps. When the checkered waved it was Reutimann picking up the win with Sanders second, Matt Miller third and Bruce Harvey and Bobby Dixon rounding out the top five.

Next were the V8 Warriors. Brett Phillips and Marco Reyes won their heat races. Jason Manning and Jeff Firestine made up the front row for the feature. Manning led the first part of the race until with just a few laps remaining as Jeff Weaver passed him and went on to grab his first feature win here at East Bay. Manning went on to finish second while Firestine, Derek Gray and Don Jones rounded out the top five.

The Late Models were next as it was the final points night of the season and it was double points for them. Roger Crouse went into the final night with just a 50 point lead over Phillip Cobb. Winning their heats were Devin Dixon and Travis Varnadore. For the front row it was Doug Watson and Cobb. Before the race began, Buzzie Reutimann drove the missing man formation for fellow driver Tom Megginson who lost his life just a few weeks back. The crowd stood in silence and the cars paced in his honor. As Buzzie drove the car into the pits, the crowd gave a round of applause. When the green dropped it was Phillip Cobb taking the lead over Doug Watson. The first caution came out on lap three as Henry Burnside spun in turn two. When the race resumed, Cobb continued to lead the way. Several cautions came throughout the race and all eyes were on Cobb and Crouse. Midway through the race, Crouse was back in eleventh and could not finish any less then twelfth if Cobb won. Cobb was on a mission to do what he had to do as Crouse began to pass cars and make his way up. With just two laps remaining, Billy Boyd, Sr. spun bringing the field right behind Cobb. But when the checkered flew it was Cobb picking up his fifth feature win of the season losing the points by just a mere 32 points, his car number. Finishing second was Dixon with Travis Varnadore third and Crouse finished fourth and picking up the Late Model Championship for the 2012 Season. Finishing fifth was Kyle Musselman.

The final feature event of the night went to the Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers. Winning their heats were Robert Kissam, Richard Humfeld and Troy Dittebrand. For the feature event was Moore and Dittebrand on the front row. Moore led for first seven laps until Kissam took over the top spot. Caution came out on lap twelve as Don R. Quinn slowed in turn two. But when the green flag waved, the very next lap Humfeld took the lead and went on to win his very first feature win after three years in the class. Moore went on to finish second with Kissam, Dittebrand and Kayla Jones rounding out the top five.

ASA Racing continues next week as the Limited Late Models, East Bay Sprints and the Outlaw Fours run for the final points night of the season. Also racing will be the Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers. For further information, log on to www.eastbayracewaypark.com or call 813-677-7223 for more information.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!