AJ Maddox Makes It Two In A Row For The Top Gun Sprints At East Bay Raceway Park

November 24, 2012 by  
Filed under Featured, Racing Results, Stories

November 17, 2012 – Tampa, FL – The Top Gun Sprints returned for the final event of the 2012 Season. Along with them were the Florida Old Time Mods, Outlaw Fours and the Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers.

The first event of the night belonged to the Florida Old Time Mods. Tom McDonald and Dan Darnell won their heat races. For the feature event it was Mark Steve and Robert Campbell. When the green waved it was Roger Herbach charging up to take over the lead by lap one. On Lap seven, Dan Darnell came from the back of the pack to take over the lead and never looked back as they went twelve laps without a caution and Darnell picked up the win. Michael Davis, Jamie Frankland, Roger Herbach and Lars Amundsen rounded out the top five.

Next were the Outlaw Fours. Brandon Yates and Nick Hebrank won their heat races and also made up the front row for the feature. Hebrank took the lead on the first lap, but on lap four, Dorsey Strickland took over the top spot. The first caution of the race came on the next lap as Bill Mort and Hebrank tangled in turn two. The green waved again and Strickland led the field for the next five laps. On lap ten, Billy Howard made a move to try and take over the top spot in turn four. He had it just for a moment as Strickland regained the lead on the front stretch. Several more cautions came out, but when the checkered waved it was Strickland crossing the line first with Hohlbaugh second, Scotty Williams, Raymond Folwell and Brandon Yates fifth. But after tech inspections, Strickland was found illegal which handed the win over to Hohlbaugh. Moving up the top three on position and Kyle Worden now finished in the top five.

Next was the final event of the season for the Top Gun Sprints. Winning their heat races were Tony Agin, Tim George and AJ Maddox. That made them also eligible for the Barfield Sweep of $200 plus the $1,000 if they won the feature event sponsored by Boomtrux.com. When the green waved it was Maddox leading the way with Agin, Billy Boyd, Jr. and Matt Kurtz trying to chase him down. The first caution came out as Gene Lasker tangled with a lap car end ending his night. Several more cautions came out, but with just five to go it was Maddox still in charge. Behind him was the points leader for the series Matt Kurtz with Mark Ruel, Jr. and Billy Boyd, Jr. looking for that win. Maddox once again showed his muscle when the green dropped, but with just two laps remaining, Kerry Gilbert slowed in turn two bringing out the final caution of the night. Maddox went on to win back to back features for the Top Gun Sprints here at East Bay Raceway Park. Matt Kurtz finished second and went on to win the points Championship for the Top Gun Sprints. Billy Boyd, Jr., Shawn Murray and Mark Ruel, Jr. rounded out the top five.

Last feature of the night went to the Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers. Robert Kissam, Don R. Quinn and Brett Calonge won their heat races. Along with Calonge on the front row was Jeremy Douglas. When the green waved, Calonge was on a mission in trying to hold off Robert Kissam as he was trying to make it five in a row. But on lap six, Kissam’s transmission exploded ending his night. Patrick Tabb crossed the line first with Calonge second, Douglas third, Don R. Quinn fourth and Troy Dittebrand fifth. But again after tech inspection, Tabb once again was found illegal handing the win over to Calonge for his second win of the season. William Burnside finished fifth with all the others moving up one spot.

ASA Racing continues next week as the David Reutimann Foundation 50 for the Gagel Open Wheel Modifieds run for the $2,000. David and his dad Buzzie will be battling to see who has bragging rights for 2012. Along with them will be the Late Models as it will be their final points night of the season and will be running for double points. The Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers, FL Old Time Mods and the V8 Warriors will also be racing. For further information, log on to www.eastbayracewaypark.com or call 813-677-7223 for more information.