Bryan Bernhardt Wins Racecar Engineering Late Model Feature Event

By: Jason Loughren – 11/6/2010

Cooler temperatures hit the Bay area this week but the action at Eastbay Raceway Park was as hot as ever. Five classes were in action as the season hit the month of November and the final points drive for the championship in all classes. A packed grandstand witnessed a great night of racing action.

The Outlaw 4’s were first on the feature card as Shirlene Hammond picked up her first win of the year. Hammond started on the front row and held off the challenge of Billy Howard. Howard finished 2nd. Points leader Matthew Haynes finished 3rd. Brittany Yates and Roberto Morfin, Jr. rounded out the top-5. Howard and Jody Robbins won the heats.

The East Bay Sprints were in action again as last week’s feature winner Danny Martin, Jr. appeared to have things in hand while leading when his engine blew in turn 4. The top spot was handed over to points leader Tim George. George drove away from the field and picked up his 2nd feature win of the season. Billy Boyd finished 2nd. Kurt Taylor started 5th and finished 3rd. Travis Bleimeister and Rich Alexander rounded out the top-5. Boyd and Taylor won the heat races.

In the Racecar Engineering Late Models Bryan Bernhardt started on the pole and never looked back. The points leader led all 25 laps and picked up his 3rd feature win of the year. Jack Nosbisch, Jr. started 8th and finished 2nd. Travis Varnadore finished 3rd. Mavrick Varnadore started 6th and finished 4th. Wallace Peacock rounded out the top-5. Nosbich, Jr. and Kyle Musselman were victorious in the heats.

The Precision Kia of Wesley Chapel Street Stocks Clarence and Thomas Pratt battled for the lead as the laps wound down. On the final lap with Clarence leading and his brother Thomas running second Clarence spun in turn 2 and collected Thomas. This turned the lead over to Donnie Reed who picked up his 8th feature win of the season. Roy Woodhouse finished 2nd. Gary Sheffield started 11th and finished 3rd. Mike Wilson finished 4th. Buck Woodhouse rounded out the top-5. T. Pratt and Eric Moon were victorious in the heats.

The 4 cylinder bombers Johnnie Alexander picked up the win after a 3rd place start. Alexander was able to hold off the hard charging Michael Eaton who was trying to win his 3rd feature in a row. Tonight’s win was Alexander’s third of the year. Eaton finished 2nd. George Handy started second and finished 3rd. Points leader Troy Dittebrand finished 4th. Kever Raulerson rounded out the top-5. Dittebrand, Alexander and Handy won the heats. Don Quinn, Andre Sheneman and Patrick Fiore, Sr. raced into the feature as a result of a top-3 finish in the B-Main.

ASA Sanctioned racing returns to East Bay Raceway Park on Saturday, November 13, 2010 with the Racecar Engineering Late Model’s, The Limited Late Models, Gagels Open Wheel Modifieds, Precision Kia of Wesley Chapel Street Stocks, and Outlaw 4’s. For more information go to or call the track office.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!